Little surgery on my left hand.

I had a minor procedure done on my hand the other day. I’ve missed two days of work because of it. One for the surgery, the second because I was laid out on some gnarly pain killers the doctor gave me. Today I’m back at work, and I haven’t taken a pill so I could work. My left hand is sort of throbbing, but it’s about what I would have expected, having had my hand sliced open. It’s pretty sore, but manageable. I can obviously type so it’s not that bad, however there is no way I could play guitar right now, which the doc had assured me would be no problem.

No biggie, I’ll live, but two weeks with this bandage, and taking a shower with a bag on my arm, is gonna be weird.

Makes me think of this passage from “The Old Man And The Sea”

“He decided that he could beat anyone if he wanted to badly enough and he decided that it was bad for his right hand for fishing. He had tried a few practice matches with his left hand. But his left hand had always been a traitor and would not do what he called on it to do and he did not trust it.”

And this one:

He could feel the steady hard pull of the line and his left hand was cramped. It drew up tight on the heavy cord and he looked at it in disgust.

“What kind of a hand is that,” he said. “Cramp then if you want. Make yourself into a claw. It will do you no good.”

Today though, I had to come back to work. No sense in putting off work. My hand is all swollen and tender, but I’ll live. You never really realize how much you use your left hand for typing, until someone wraps it tightly in gauze so you can barely use it.

image

Leave a Reply

