BBQ at Santa Anita, and some awesome San Diego times.

I’ve been quiet, but I have been all over the damned place. It’s been an awesome start to Spring, and I hope it continues this way for a while. Good momentum happening.

 

To catch up:

My car is screaming at me for a paint job. I have been driving her around, getting her nice and used to the road again, but the rear tires are still rubbing on the inner fender a bit, I need to finish that off. I don’t have the guts to take a hammer to it like the internet says, so I think a body shop will be on tap for that one. Still, she’s running great, and she did her first burnout in downtown LA in the middle of the night the other day, but we won’t talk too much about that.

 

I got to head down to San Diego for a TOOL show, it was freaking amazing. It was a Sunday, so we had to make a whole day of it to make the trip worthwhile. There was the awesome arena style Tool show, the awesome breakfast we had at the Beach Break cafe, the trip down to Slater’s 50/50 for one of their legendary half bacon half beef (hence the 50/50) creations. Super good. The trip to Stone Gardens and Brewery for MORE beer, and found these badass Adirondack chairs that I must now have.

After that, we went to Ballast Point for even more beer, and this place, while being in a super corporate business park, really was an awesome beer place. The Chalkboard menu says it all, really. Something for everybody, and I got to try the Habanero IPA (Spicy!) and the Curry Porter, which were definitely different, but incredible. I took home a gallon of Habanero IPA for myself, and a couple of souvenir glassware pieces for the home bar. We had a good sampling, then took pints outside to have a nice drunk lunch in the sun. Some great fish tacos and a couple more pints later, we were ready for the show. Tool was amazing, it was my first time, and it blew my mind. I usually get bored pretty quick at shows, but they kept my attention. I love them, and I’m happy to have seen them.

Afterward, we had to drive home as we all worked the next morning, and I ended up getting to be at about 2, but it was entirely worth it. I’d do it again in a heartbeat.

On 3/22 I got to hit the Santa Anita BBQ competition with my bro, and we really, really had an awesome time. While all the suckers waited in line for measly samples and sliders (Pfft, bread at a BBQ comp? get real.) we wen over to the competition area, and started chatting it up with the pros. I know my way around a grill, and you could tell these guys were tire of talking to people. It took a well placed good question about BBQ to open them up, but I was able to get them talking, and eventually they shared plates with us! One of the guys opened up a big heavy iron grill, and told my bro and I to “Help ourselves. We couldn’t believe it when it opened up. We must have looked like Indiana Jones picking up the idol in Raiders. Unfreaking-believeable. 

It’s been a busy couple of weeks. I like things this way. I’ve also got things under my hat that I can’t really talk about happening, and they’re big, scary life changing things. Let’s just say that as of right now, I couldn’t tell you where I’m going to be in a couple of months. . . the feeling is excitement, anxiety, trepidation and perhaps a little bit of sadness. That’s all I can really say, but it’s big. I promised myself I’d write about it here when it’s all over, either way.

Coming right up is Ciclavia this weekend, hoping to get some good pics there. I also have booked a room and trip to Vegas for the Kentucky Derby. That oughta be interesting to say the least. Buncha drunk degenerate gamblers romping around Vegas unabated. I just hope nobody gets arrested, especially the dude driving the car I’m in.

More soon!

 

– Fred.

 

Leave a Reply

