Busy hands are happy hands! (Idle hands are the devil’s playground)

Started refinishing an old cedar chest my mother had laying around in the living room. It looks really nice, but was totally beat up. The kids had taken their toll with water rings and scratch marks from the years of toys and heavy, regular use. 

Here’s an album with some pics. 

Just a couple of pics, I need to add more as I go along. So far the difference is incredible. It was good to test out the new sander, a DeWalt sander I picked up cheap online. The pads stick on with velcro, something I never would have expected. The tool didn’t seem nearly as dangerous as I thought it would, I have bad memories of helping my cousin rough up a table, but come to think of it, he was using a sanding pad on a grinder, which is definitely not the safest thing to do. 

Anyway, it was a fun little project, and it is going to take some more time. there is an overnight curing needed for every phase of the refurbishing, and I don’t mind the wait. Patience is always a big part of crafting anything. 

Also hit the race track this weekend for some betting. I broke dead even after betting only a couple of times. 

In fact, pulling up my betting history, I see that I only made two bets, one for $6 which I lost, and one for $2 which won me $22.50 ! 

WebService February 4, 2014 4:08 PM 678417 Race 1 Yonkers Raceway WPS 7 Bet $6 $0  
WebService February 4, 2014 11:48 AM 354403 Race 3 Sam Houston Race Park $1.00 P3 (PWHL) 1 / 1 / 6, 7 Bet $2 $25.50  

Not a bad day, considering I had a blast, writing in my journal and reading the program while drinking with my brother. I also had myself a very spicy, very nice Bloody Mary.  It was a Saturday and I was a touch hungover from Friday night, which included a deep valley happy hour I should not have attended. In fact after the track I missed a Swinghouse Studios party, and I’m not looking forward to hearing how cool that was. 

Actually, I can deal with it, because last Thursday night, I was lucky enough to be invited to the Peer Music party for Andrew Simple. Simple’s song “Little Wildflower” wa chosen by Subaru for one of their commercials, and is a great song too. It’s rare that I actually get to really enjoy an act I see at a work function. They’re usually more pop oriented, but here I was able to really groove along with the artist, and enjoy the free hours d’oeuvres and beer. I even had a super foo foo Pomegranate martini that tasted like a capri sun. Here’s the Subaru commercial with the tune involved. I actually remember diggin the commercial,and the tune on their own before hearing about Simple. Here is the full version of the song along with the lyrics. 

So that was fun. I met some really cool industry people, as well as some leaders in my field. I even had a director ask one of my colleagues where I was, and this director took my buddy all over the place looking for me. I was pretty honored, which might be a little silly, but that’s ok with me. It’s good to know that your name means something to people, and that they would want to meet you in person, especially in the music biz. It’s especially nice when you’re talking, and there’s no need to wonder about the person’s credentials, because of the massive wall of Gold and Platinum records. It’s refreshing to meet someone and not have to wonder, “Is this guy for real?”

So it was a good week. I got a lot done, learned a lot, and did a lot of work. I couldn’t ask for anything more. 

Leave a Reply

