Fall in Full swing ’13

The last couple of weeks have felt like a mad flurry of activity as Summer dies down, and the last little Los Angeles heat waves ebb and flow. The weather is cooling down and it’s almost jacket time, but not quite. It’s starting to get dark earlier, and the short days are spent grinding away at work, pushing a pencil around and making for some super productive weeks.

I’ve been sharing my IPA the last couple weeks too, and it’s gotten lots of great reviews. The end of summer means Oktoberfest, so I’ve been drinking that style to get re-acquainted with it. I’ll be brewing one up this weekend, but until then, I’ve been having at this keg f IPA, and beer life is good.

My nephew had his 4th birthday party, and I took him ahead of time to see “Planes”, then off to Toys R’ Us to do something I’ve always wanted to do. I let him have his pick of ANY toy in the place. He scared me for a while, looking at bicycles and giant $300 remote control cars, but eventually he settles on an awesome (and reasonably priced) castle. That was fun. I would have bought him a bike if he wanted it.

His party was awesome, and this table full of goodies was a definite favorite with the kids. The stuff in the red bottles is called Chamoy,  and the kids put it on everything. I’m not that into it, it’s one of those things that’s good when you;re three, but as an adult, tastes like pure sugar. Still, I munched on the spicy peanuts and had beers with my cousins and friends. We even had a taco lady come down and cater. The awesome thing about this taco lady was that she also brought Pupusas, and bacon wrapped hot dogs. Something for everybody. The tacos were featured however, and they were awesome.

After the party I went to one of those deals where they make a restaurant out of somebody’s house, and I had an awesome time. I had way too much whiskey though, and slept on a couch at the house afterward. I woke up at 6 am to a screaming baby (someone was visiting) and had to leave. I had the Dr. with me, so I tried my best to wake him up, but he was so wasted he was like a corpse on the couch I drove his hungover ass home, and then took myself home, and smoked a brisket.

It’s been that kind of month. September has been that kind of month. It’s ending. Somebody should call Billie Joe. 

My model car is coming along.  . Seeing the charcoal grey really is making me think. I may not be as sure about the colors I’ve chosen for the Dodge, as I had thought. I have a few more kits, and I’m going to try different colors.

Also this week, I helped my nephew set up the race course I bought him. THAT was fun. He’s a little greedy with the fast car, but it’s ok, watching him play, and remembering what it was like myself, is pretty awesome. Nostalgia waves are intense, because I could never fake the merriment he makes genuinely, with no effort. He is quick to laugh, and his laugh is contagious. He loves his Hot Wheels, especially a certain car that he calls the Batman car.  To us, there’s this whole back story behind it, about how Batman dresses up the Batmobile for races, and puts a number “2” on it, so they can tell how fast he’s going.

I got to go to the track for opening weekend, and sat in a section called the “End Zone”  There were big TV’s. a little buffet of salad, hot dogs, and pulled pork, and everything but a beverage. In the hot sun, with the cheap beer, and no water it was a recipe for a hangover, and dehydration. 2 out of 3 of us had headaches and wanted to leave by the 8th race of 10, but in all, we had a good day. One of us won $300 on a 2 dollar bet, so that’s always a plus. Of course, it was all beginner’s luck, totally unscientific, and a fluke, but we’ll take it. Watching the ponies run is always fun, and I mad sure to get a couple of pics. I really liked the braided mane on this one.  I’ll tell you what too, the Pulled Pork had too much sauce on it, but I tweeted them and let them know. They’ll get right on it.

Craziest thing I did in the last 5 days was, I bought a suit! Its actually a sports coat, with a pair of slacks, but it’s for my good friend Amber’s wedding, so I was excited to spend the money, and really am excited for this wedding. They’re both excellent friends of mine, and I am really happy for them, and proud of their commitment. Also I like that they did it right, they were together, lived together, and were successful together for a long time before getting married. Smart. Two of the smartest, well-bred, and tasteful people I know. Sincerely.  That’s my excuse to buy an outfit, so I did. Can’t wait to pick it up Wednesday after it’s tailored. 

It’s been fun, and with baseball in full swing, it really feels like fall. The year is coming to an end, and it’s almost time to start thinking about the holidays. Halloween for now, and hmm, maybe I’ll actually take some good advice, shave my head and goatee, and be Uncle Fester for Halloween. This remains to be seen!

 

Leave a Reply

