New tires and wheels for the Coronet.

Here is a little bit of a before and after. 

I couldn’t believe how hard it was to find a tire shop that would deal with my new rims and tires. The mom and pop shops straight out told me they were scared of scratching them, and after three shops, I went to Sears.

Here’s a before and after from the rear. Actually should be an After and Before, as the after pic is on top. . . anyway, you can see how much beefier the new tires are in general. Big, chunky, and hopefully sticky. You can also see how much closer everything is to the tires. This is a 15×10 inch rim with 5.5 inches of backspacing. The tires are 295/50/15’s. 

The leaf springs look beat. They’re probably fine, but at this point, I’m just going to get them. No sense in cutting corners now. I’m going to get some extra stiff springs, that add a bit of lift, so I can get rid of my lift shackles and clean it up back there a little bit. 

Also the rear right tire sounds like it’s rubbing in the fender a bit on harder left turns. Especially considering I want to be able to carry passengers in this car, the springs will need some stiffening. So I’ll be adding some Extra Heavy Duty rear springs soon. 

Cant get over how awesome the rims look. Need to get the fronts to match, sort out my leaf springs, and then worry about the paint an interior. 

However, I may need a little break now that shes running solid, as I have a certain Volkswagen that needs to get sold or used in general. I got a parking ticket on it the other day for not moving it, so I think it’s time. Nothing motivates me like a parking ticket. I’ve never been impounded and I don’t want to start now. 

 

Leave a Reply

