Father’s day brew day. My first Bohemian Pilsner brew.

Woke up early this morning to an alarm I’d set, a reminder that today was brew day, and that there was pancake mix. Basically I was reminding myself to make pancakes, and prepare for a long all grain brew day.

Right out of the shower I was thinking about my shopping list. I needed some more hose, to transfer beer through my “Duda Diesel Plate Chiller” and I needed a garden hose to run water through it as well. So up early, and off to Cheapo Depot for some hardware.

I got away cheap, only $35 for what I needed plus a couple of tools for the coronet. A short stubby screwdriver to get to a couple of though screws, and a kit to retrieve small dropped parts in narrow nooks and crannies. I don;t know how many times I wished I’d had one, but didn’t. Of course, now I’ll probably never drop another small screw into a cylinder again, but hey, an ounce of prevention is better than a pound of cure.

I got home and got on the internet for some information, and noticed via the google doodle that it was fathers day. Looked up at a pic of my late pops, and sort of reflected for a second. Almost tweeted something, but figured it was better left in my thoughts, as it’s really important, and to tweet about it, would be to trivialize it, and the flood of memories that come back every year when I see that it’s father’s day.

He was young in this pic, he was never really old either.

He was young in this pic, he was never really old either.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I digress.

Brew day.

Image

I’ve had a good liter of lager yeast starter going for about three days now, and it’s bubbling along happily. Temp in here is low 70’s southern California glory, so it’s all good.

Some may ask, “I thought lagers needed to live in lower temps?”

According to what I’ve read, just about everywhere, the lager yeast is fine at low 70’s for propogation, that is the reproductive cycle. All we’re doing with a yeast starter is trying to increase the amount of viable yeast that goes into the wort, and we will still be conditioning and lagering the beer for some 6 to 8 weeks, so yes, you can grow a yeast starter at nice ale temps. I still wouldn’t go above low 70’s, and it would probably be super clean and nice to have a lagered yeast starter, but who’s got time for that?

My recipe was super simple. my Buddy Ben is something of a beer mentor for me, and I have had much success applying his teachings, along with my own philosophy to my recipes. Here it is in it’s simple glory:

  • 10 lbs Pilsner Malt
  • 1 lb Vienna Malt
  • 1 oz Noble Hop @ 60 min
  • 1 oz Noble Hop @10 or 5 min. (Same variety as previous Noble Hop
  • Note, I chose Spalter Spalt Hops, a Bohemian Hop which is supposed to make my pilsner taste like Pilsner Urquell, which is what I’m after. The book “Clone Brews” (Szamatulski) asks for a Saaz hops. I may try both recipes.
  • White Labs German Lager Yeast WLP 830

Pretty simple, and I’m hoping for a nice crisp lager.

Here are a couple of pics from the brew day.

http://imgur.com/a/Rkdy8#0

 

Cheers! I’ll post a pic at the beers various stages. This thing is gonna take something like 6 weeks to lager in the fridge.

 

2 thoughts on “Father’s day brew day. My first Bohemian Pilsner brew.

    • Ya know, I was gonna do that, but by the end if brew day, I was pooped. No time to toast the grain. You’re not supposed to let wet grain sit cause it will sour on you in hours, even in a fridge.

Leave a Reply

