Drove my 68 Coronet home today.

I felt like a kid again. I say that a lot, but it was pretty intense. The engine feels nice. I built that engine with my own two hands. I had guidance, but I didn’t let anybody help me all that much. My buddy Frank helped me get her together in the beginning, and I took it from there.

I wish I had pics of the engine build, I received the block cleaned up as a short block, and the heads were worked over a little bit, hardened the valve seats so I can really stomp on her when she’s ready.

Right now I need to get her as clean as I possibly can, break in the engine, and then start thinking about getting the car primered or even painted if I can swing the cash.

She felt nice on the road. A little too much play on the steering wheel, but the disc brake swap is sweet, she stops better than she ever has in the twenty years that I’ve owned her. The play isn’t bad, it feels really smooth.

The exhaust sounds beautiful. TTI Pipes out the back, with Dynomax mufflers. I used to be a flowmaster guy, and I was thinking about putting my old set in this time, but the dynomax sounded incredible when all four barrels open up on the holley.

The transmission feels really solid. Bob Mazzolini built that, and now the car chirps the tires a little bit into second gear. Feels really zippy, though I haven’t really stomped on it. Just feels good and responsive.

All in all, it was an incredible, albeit short ride home from the shop. I parked her, and went to work. I need to get to work, but I wanted to write this before I forgot this feeling. It’s incredible. I’ve owned her for twenty, but shes only run for maybe 4 years total in that time. THings are different now, and it’s gonna be different this time around for the car too. She’s gonna get all the TLC I can give her. One day, when she’s done, I’m gonna sit next to the car at a car show, and just live out that dream. Thats the goal for now. I may take her to Bob’s cruise night in Burbank when I get her registered, but I can’t wait to take her to a real car show.

Okay, all for now. I’ll take pics when I get home, and do more of a write up. I can’t wait to dig in to her now, and now is my chance!

Drove my 68 Coronet home today.

Leave a Reply

